New importers sometimes may be puzzled by so many certifications, such as UL, CE, FCC etc. You may wonder: what are these product certification standards? Which countries and product categories they apply to? In this article, we will give you a complete guide of the major products certifications.


The CE marking (also known as CE mark) is a mandatory conformity mark on many products placed on the single market in the European Economic Area (EEA). The CE marking certifies that a product has met EU consumer safety, health or environmental requirements.

Countries that adopt UL certification: EU countries. 
Which product categories UL apply to: Examples of European Directives requiring CE marking include toy safety, machinery, low-voltage equipment, terminal equipment and electromagnetic compatibility. There are about 25 directives requiring CE marking, the link of the 25 directives is
Official CE website:


Underwriters Laboratories Inc. (UL) is a U.S. privately owned and operated, independent, third party product safety testing and certification organization. Based in Northbrook, Illinois, UL develops standards and test procedures for products, materials, components, assemblies, tools and equipment, chiefly dealing with product safety. UL also evaluates and certifies the efficiency of a company’s business processes through its management system registration programs. Additionally, UL analyzes drinking and other clean water samples through its drinking water laboratory in South Bend, Indiana. The UL Mark does not carry any legal weight beyond that of any other trademark. In this sense, it is different from the CE Marking or the FCC Part 15 requirements for electronic devices, which are required by law. In practice, however, it may be extremely difficult to sell certain types of products without a UL Mark. Large distributors may be unwilling to carry a product without UL certification, and the use of noncertified equipment may invalidate insurance coverage. It is common practice in many fields to specify UL Listed equipment or UL Recognized materials. Local jurisdictional authorities, such as building, electrical and fire inspectors, may be reluctant to accept a product for installation in a building unless it carries a recognized third-party compliance mark such as the UL Mark

Countries that adopt UL certification: U.S and Canada
Which product categories UL apply to: Electrical Enclosures, Industrial Control Panels, Industrial Control Equipment, High-Voltage Industrial Control Equipment, Power Conversion Equipment
Official UL website:


The A-Tick is a compliance mark produced by ACMA for telecommunications equipment. It gives consumers confidence that a telecommunications product meets the safety and technical standards set by the Australian Communications and Media Authority (ACMA). Telecommunications products must have an A-Tick or display the labels of previous labeling schemes such as the Telecom Authorization or AUSTEL permit. Products without an A-Tick or the previously accepted labels may be unsafe and cause damage when connected to the network and cannot be connected to a carrier’s network. 
Countries that adopt UL certification: Australia
Which product categories UL apply to: telecommunications equipment
Official UL website:


The CCC (China Compulsory Certification) Mark is a mandatory safety and quality mark for products sold in the Chinese market. It is required for products in 19 groups, divided into 132 product categories in total. UL-CCIC, UL’s joint venture in China with CCIC (China National Import and Export Commodities Inspection Corporation), has been approved by the Certification and Accreditation Administration of the People’s Republic of China (CNCA) as a registered CCC agent to assist domestic and overseas clients with CCC certification applications.

Countries that adopt UL certification: China
Which product categories UL apply to: 132 product categories.
Official UL website:


GS Mark is a voluntary mark. It can be used on products such as household appliances, laboratory equipment, luminaries and IT/AV equipment. Products are evaluated according to the German Equipment and Product Safety Act (GPSG). The evaluation is based on harmonized European standards for the safety testing, some product may require additional testing according to other standards e.g. ergonomic testing. The validity of the certificate is maximum 5 years.
Countries that adopt GS certification: German
Which product categories GS apply to: household appliances, laboratory equipment, luminaries and IT/AV equipment.


Instagram Twitter Youtube Facebook